Building Better Healthcare Awards

Building Better Healthcare Awards 2022 - the categories

Published: 15-Jun-2022

24 awards up for grabs as this year's competition recognises the sector's innovative response to current pressures

In the past two years health services around the world have undergone a transformation as they struggle to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on the delivery of health services.

This has led to the widespread adoption of innovative products and services, and this approach is reflected in the categories chosen for this year’s Building Better Healthcare Awards.

To be presented in five classes – Patient Environment, Building Design, Estates and Facilities Management, Technology, and Special Awards – the categories for 2022 reflect the way in which health providers and their supply chains have stepped up to maintain and improve services.

In the Building Design class, awards will recognise both the delivery of new hospitals as part of the Government’s commitment to building 40 new facilities by 2030; and the rapid construction of additional infrastructure at the height of the pandemic.

There are also awards for Best Social Care Development and Best Dementia Care Development due to the growing pressure caused by an ageing population.

COVID-19 also highlighted the importance of the healthcare environment for patients and staff, and this is again reflected in the categories chosen this year, with prizes for artworks, interior design, and landscaping and outdoor spaces.

Have you entered the awards yet? Enter now.

From the 24 categories to chose from, this is your chance to gain the recognition you deserve. Enter the awards today. Entries close on 30 June.

Another key area is technology, with the adoption of digital solutions increasing significantly as a result of restrictions on face-to-face consultations over the past two years.

The five categories in this class cover everything from healthcare software and the use of technology to the all-important communications solutions which have underpinned the health service’s response to COVID-19.

And we haven’t forgotten the estates and facilities teams responsible for delivering many of these services, with awards for Estates and Facilities Team of the Year, Best Patient Safety Initiative, and Best Carbon Reduction Initiative.

Finally, there are three special awards.

The Grand Prix Design Award will be presented to the Building Design entry the judges deem to have had the most-positive impact on the future of healthcare delivery; while the Clinician’s Choice Award and Patients’ Choice Award will recognise the entry across all categories which our clinical and patient experience judges believe will revolutionise service delivery and patient outcomes.

Commenting on this year's awards, Jo Makosinski, editor of Building Better Healthcare and organiser of the awards, said: "So much innovation has happened over the last two years, from the rapidly-constructed COVID-19 wards and testing centres, to new technological solutions and infection control regimes, and the Building Better Healthcare Awards will highlight and recognise these incredible efforts.

"The judges are looking for entries that clearly set out how products, projects, and services have made a positive impact on health service delivery and how they could be rolled out more widely to benefit the sector as a whole, both nationally and internationally."

To find out more about this year’s awards, click here.

Building Better Healthcare Awards 2022 - the categories

The categories for 2022

Patient Environment

  • Best Interior Design Project (Refurbishment)
  • Best Interior Design Project (New Build)
  • Best External Environment Project
  • Best Collaborative Arts Project (Static)
  • Best Collaborative Arts Project (Performance)

Estates and Facilities Management

  • Best Carbon Reduction Initiative
  • Estates and Facilities Team of the Year
  • Best Patient Safety Initiative

Building Class

  • Best Healthcare Development (UK – value <£10m) – Sponsored by Knightsbridge
  • Best Healthcare Development (UK – value >£10m) – Sponsored by MTX
  • Best Social Care Development
  • Best Dementia Care Development (Sponsored by LSI)
  • Best Modular/ Mobile Healthcare Facility
  • Interior Building Product
  • Best Furniture and Fixtures Product
  • Best Healthcare Development (International) – Sponsored by IHG


  • Healthcare Software – Process or Admin Centred
  • Healthcare Software – Patient Centred
  • Best Use of Technology (Primary/Community Care)
  • Best Use of Technology (Acute Care) – Sponsored by Wardray Premise
  • Best Communications System

Special Awards

  • Clinician’s choice – Sponsored by Tilbury Douglas
  • Patient’s Choice
  • Grand Prix Design

You've got to be in it to win it!

The Building Better Healthcare Awards will put you and your team in centre stage for your outstanding contribution to the healthcare sector, submit your entry today for your chance to be crowned the 2022 winner!



Enter today!

For award entry, sponsorship or exhibition enquiries, please contact Damien Ward: | +44 207 193 1641.

You may also like