BBH Awards 2016 opens for entries

Competition celebrates excellence in healthcare estates and product design

The Building Better Healthcare Awards 2016 opens for entries today.

Now in its 18th year, this popular competition celebrates the innovation, architecture, people, products and services that are helping to transform patient care across the NHS, private health and social care sectors.

This year there are 23 awards categories across five classes – Building Design, Patient Experience, Products, Estates and Facilities Management, and the Special class.

New awards for this year include two prizes which recognise the Government’s decision to make the use of Building Information Modelling (BIM) compulsory on all centrally-procured developments.

The awards are:

  • Best Communications or IT Product
  • Best Exterior Product
  • Best Interior Product
  • Best Internal Environment
  • Best External Environment
  • Best Collaborative Arts Project (Performance)
  • Best Collaborative Arts Project (Static)
  • Best Example of Efficiencies
  • Best use of BIM
  • Facilities Team of the Year
  • Estates Team of the Year
  • Best Building Information Modelling (BIM) Development
  • Best Sustainable Development
  • Best Dementia Care Development
  • Best Mental Health Development
  • Best International Design
  • Best Primary Care Development
  • Best Acute Hospital Development
  • Grand Prix Design Award
  • Patient’s Choice Award
  • Clinician’s Choice Award

Entries are being welcomed in all categories except for the Special Awards class, where winners are chosen by the judges from across all entries.

The judges will meet in the summer to discuss the nominations and the winners will be revealed at a plush ceremony in central London on 2 November.

For full details of criteria, and how to enter, click here to visit the awards website.